Curl Refreshers

Yes, another hair post. I know this is supposed to be about more than hair, but lately I’ve been more inspired to write about hair than all of the other horribleness that’s been going on since 45 was elected into office.

In any case, ever since I learned how to take care of my hair in its natural state, I’ve had problems with curl refreshers. That is, I’ve never been able to refresh my hair without frizz and shrinkage. Once my hair is set on wash day, das it! It does not like spritzes of water or water based moisturizers. And my crown tends to frizz before the rest of my hair, so by the time I get to wash day, I have a true afro–on top of my head. There is nothing wrong with that because I usually sport a kinky-curly afro, but with the crown frizz it just looks inconsistent; cottony frizz on top and defined curls toward the bottom.

As I probably mentioned in another post, I use Qhemet Biologics Amla and Olive Heavy Cream moisturizer (or maybe I didn’t mention it, and now you know). I do not use a lot of this (about a nickel to quarter-size dollop), as it is really oily and full of glycerin. But, b-u-t castor and olive oil are the first ingredients not WATER. I then smooth three drops of avocado and sweet almond oil–mixed– over it to balance out the glycerin content. This works when my hair seems like it’s teetering on dry. I keep all of this at my finger tips because it’s really not the roots that need moisture, but a little ways from the roots to my ends. And since my scalp is sensitive I don’t like getting a lot of product near/on my scalp between washes.

I used to use the Qhemet Burdock Root Butter Cream, but it just didn’t work and it was super sticky–lots of glycerin and water. It kind of reminds me of the Oyin Handmade Hair Dew–lot’s of hype but did nothing for my hair. That being said, it might work for you.

Two Qhemet products are part of my HG rotation. The other Qhemet product I use is the Olive & Honey Hydrating Balm, which is magical. You have to mix a dollop with a few drops of water to emulsify. I use this as my oil step in the LOC method. I also randomly use it on refresh days, too. It took me a few tries to figure out how to use these products (I think the very first batch I purchased of both went to someone else), but now I’ve got it! You can’t use too much of either because your hair will be a greasy, sticky mess.

It’s taken me eight years…eight years!! to figure out how to refresh my hair. And usually this is not my entire head it’s just the crown. Basically, I have to reset the crown, and here’s what I do:

  • I take  crocodile clips and separate the crown from the rest of my hair
  • Spritz the crown with water or Shea Moisture Hold and Shine mist in sections (I’m resetting, so water is ‘OK’ in this instance) *This is one of two Shea Moisture products that I like. The other is the new hair perfume, but I actually like Jane Carter’s Seal and Shine glossifier for scent more*
  • I either use a little bit of leave-in or the Qhemet Olive & Honey
  • Shea butter mix (shea butter, avocado oil, sweet almond oil, olive oil, castor oil)
  • Kinky Curly Curling Custard or Curls Goddess Gelle to reset the curls

This is tricky because I have to be careful which leave-in I use because my hair, even though frizzy, still has product in it. And adding more leave-in can cause it to bead-up a little. This is where an oil (avocado) or the hydrating balm comes in handy because it kind of eliminates those beads of product.

When I’m done smoothing the products in, I allow my crown to dry a little before removing the clips and fluffing it back in with the rest of my hair. I know this seems like a lot, but once you get the ritual down, it’s a pretty easy.

It’s almost time for a henna gloss, and I will probably coat my scalp with an oil before application. I will discuss that later.

Any problems like mine refreshing your hair? I hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

