Terressentials: Natural Hair Post, so if you don’t care, skip it

Terressentials

 

My love-hate relationship with Terressentials continues. I LOVE what this clay hair wash does for my hair. I get great definition, and moisture for days. I tried it after I watched  Naptural85 rave about the benefits of this natural hair wash. At the same time, I had been watching videos, and doing research about the ph of hair and skin. I think that I’ve mentioned this before, but just in case, a quick reminder. The hair and skin are at their best when you use products that have a ph range between 4.5-5.5–give or take a few points. Unless you have some type of skin/scalp condition, this ph range keeps stuff from drying out your hair, and bad microbes off of your skin.

If you want fuller/puffier hair, use products that have a ph between 6-7. This is a more neutral ph, which leaves the hair cuticle slightly open. This is usually the general ph range of most products.  For those with fine hair (like me) this range usually is not a problem, as you want more fluff/frizz to the hair. This gives the illusion of thick hair. But, for a fine haired curly, I actually like my hair to be more defined because I get less tangles and breakage. Also, after a wash, as the days go by, my hair gets fuller. ( If you want to experiment, you can find a list of shampoos, conditioners, and their ph on The Natural Haven site

Okay, so this is the deal with Terressentials. My scalp hates this stuff–I think I’ve mentioned it before–but trying to find something that gives me the same results has proved impossible. There are some really good products out there, but Terressentials gives me results that I can’t duplicate with anything else.

In any case, I had to find something to wash my scalp with that wouldn’t dry out my hair before Terressentials application. This is what I do:

  • Wash my scalp with a Bobeam Shampoo Bar (Honey/Shea)–you can purchase from her Etsy Store (link provided) or Curlmart.
  • I rinse. Her shampoo bars leave the hair clean, but not completely stripped of moisture.
  • I then apply Terressentials to the length of my hair making sure that I don’t go near the scalp (I use Left Coast Lemon or Lavender).
  • Detangle and remove shed hairs.
  • Thoroughly rinse out clay wash.
  • Apply  Aubrey Organics White Camellia conditioner and apply plastic cap for deep condition (really acidic/high ph. I think because Terressentials opens the cuticle, this conditioner closes it. It has an odd foaming action–not like the foam/suds of a surfactant–it makes my hair feel squeeky, which is a sign that it is closing the cuticle. But this is my opinion, I have no science to back this up).

My leave-ins are DevaCurl One Condition (ph: 4.7) and Jessicurl Deep Treatment. I seal with a homemade Coconut oil moisturizer (coconut oil base, shea butter, jojoba oil, olive oil, Jamaican black castor oil, a few drops of argan oil, and essential oils for scent blended with a hand blender). I then apply Kinky Curly Curling Custard.

This may seem like a lot of product, but my hair is defined, moisturized and lasts seven days.

If you decide to try any of these products, let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

