Graduate School and Thoughts on Academia

Image

Sorry, I haven’t posted in quite a while. I am in the midst of the spring semester and freaking out about employment. Anyway, I thought that I would knock out a short post while I am working on a library cataloging assignment. Library cataloging is so interesting, and I wish I wasn’t learning with the instructor I have. I don’t want to get into the details and it’s only an intro class, so I will leave it at that.

I have grown a lot over the last few semesters (the summer semester was truncated because that’s how the program is set-up). I have done research in archival science, and have learned much about library and information science. And, contrary to popular belief, you do have to be smart to go into the profession.

I initially thought that I wanted to go into academic librarianship–I still do–but it’s difficult. It seems that I have a knack for choosing the difficult path. So my priority today is that if I can’t get into an entry level or internship position, I will just get into a position that is associated with the field. School loans are coming up, and the priority will be paying on those.

I am kind of disheartened about the state of academia and librarianship. I’ve been doing a lot of reading, and it has basically discouraged me from pursuing a Ph.D. It would be a waste of money and time unless it was paid for. Academia is following the business model, which is a two-tiered system where they keep a lower-class pool of workers (adjuncts) while others prosper at the top. This weakens higher education, and makes it a target for for-profit business people. The corporations and politicians have already found their way into education on all levels–this makes things bad for future generations.

This is a long conversation, but those are my initial thoughts about what is going on, and why I am going to be done with school after I receive my M.S. Also, I am ready to work and travel. I am tired of being land locked.

What is, or has been your experience with higher education? Your experience with libraries, library and info. science, or archives?

Leave a Reply

