How I keep my hair situation moisturized and product updates

Heyyy! It has been a while. I’ve been meaning to post, but I just started grad school in late July, and it’s been crazy ever since.

At any rate,  it took me a very long time to figure out how to keep my hair moisturized. I’d wash my hair, have one good hair day, and then have to figure out what I was going to do to keep it going. My hair does not like water after the initial dry, particularly with a wash n’ go. I mean, water is fine when I put my hair up in a ponytail, but if I get any water on my hair during a wash n’ go, I know that I  am gonna have to wash it soon. I get frizz and shrinkage. It’s just not pretty.

So this is what I do: after the initial wash, at night I stretch my hair into two ponytails (I do this every night–unless I am around my S.O.– until the next wash-day. ) That is, I take six Sephora snag-free hair elastics , my hair is parted down the middle, and then I stretch each side using the hair elastics (three per side.)  And then I put on a satin sleeping scarf and sleep on a satin pillowcase (I would like to get a silk pillowcase, but I am a procrastinator and satin is fine.) In the morning, I remove the satin scarf and shower with the two ponytails in my hair. Water and steam work their way into the ponytails, and after I get done preparing for the day, with a little bit of coconut oil on my hands, I remove the elastics and fluff my hair.

A note on stretching: I got this advice from YouTube-r Charz Boss–you have to stretch your hair. I don’t know how much it aids in hair growth, but I know that it keeps the hair from tangling. I have different size, curls and waves on my head, and my hair is fine, so it is imperative that i keep my hair from balling up onto itself.

Coconut oil has locking and moisturizing properties, so I frequently use this oil–this is my go-to oil. There is a trivial amount of water involved, and my wash ‘n go’s last for four-five days, and then I put it up into a ponytail for two-three days.

I have also made my own moisturizer. If you like this idea, keep it in the refrigerator because there is no amount of preservative that will keep it fresh. I mix aloe juice, water, Africa’s Best Ultimate Herbal Oil (you can use any oil blend–this one kinda smells like baby power, which I hate, but sometimes I’m just cheap, and I’m not gonna throw it out), and jojoba oil. I put this mixture into a dark brown, glass spray bottle (I picked it up at  the local health food store.)

Okay, I said that I wasn’t keen on Shea Moisture products, BUT I found one, I found one!!! I love-eee it! It is under the Nubian Heritage label (SAME COMPANY), and it’s called Indian Hemp & Tamanu, Grow & Strengthen Edge Taming Taffy. This stuff rocks for ponytails!!! OMG! I love it. I love the texture, then scent, and it works really well for ponytails (high-low or in between.)

I am probably late to the game on this one, but better late than never. I haven’t done a twist-out in a long time, but I am sure this would work well with a twist-out as well. This product is definitely a keeper.

Secondly, the As I Am cleansing pudding is still working fine. I still deep condition after I use it because it is a little drying.  And, another thing, if you do get this product, follow the directions and allow it to sit on your scalp after you scrub it with your fingertips.

Until next time…and it probably won’t be another hair post.

Leave a Reply

