“One Nation Under Dog: Stories of Fear, Loss & Betrayal” HBO Documentary

I love animals. Currently, I live with a pug, and I have three cats in my life. I have always loved animals. In fact, when I was a wee-kid, I attended the University of Chicago Lab school and we had pet rats, and I used to play with them often. Today, I can’t believe that I did that because I have a serious aversion to rodents. Also, I was bitten in the face by a dog, but that still didn’t turn me off of ’em (I was a kid, and I didn’t listen to the owner when he told me not to put my face in the dog’s face–my bad).

In any case, I was channel surfing and landed on HBOs Monday night documentary, “One Nation Under Dog: Stories of Fear, Loss and Betrayal. Let me just tell you–I wasn’t able to sit through the entire documentary. The first segment was about an irresponsible owner who knew that his dogs were not social, but would allow them to be off leash in the neighborhood. A couple of his dogs bit several people in the neighborhood. In particular, one little girl lost an ear. Eventually, the dog bit another young girl, and the owners were forced to get the dog euthanized. This is the owners fault! This story reminded me of the many times that my friend and I would go to the dog park, ask an owner if their dog was friendly, they would respond, “sure!,” and then the dog would proceed to attack.

The most disturbing part of the documentary was seeing shelter dogs thrown into a gas chamber, and then they were gassed. I couldn’t watch anymore. It is terrible that people get animals, and then they don’t take care of them. I can’t quote any percentages or numbers here, but in the U.S. the number of animals that are euthanized every year is out of control. And when I saw those poor dogs…ugh! I can’t say anymore. It broke my heart.

I am not one of these people that put animal lives above that of humans. I believe that life is a gift for all beings, and that pets are a pure source of love and companionship. What a shame that millions of animals are euthanized in this way.

If you love animals, PLEASE, donate to your local shelter. If you have the means to take care of a pet, please, adopt from a shelter, or your humane society.

Do you love dogs?cats? Do you have any pets? Did you see this documentary? What do you think?

One thought on ““One Nation Under Dog: Stories of Fear, Loss & Betrayal” HBO Documentary

  1. I saw the documentary and it did more than break my heart.
    Dogs are hard to take care of and are best off in certain places like on a farm or with a family that doesn’t have expensive furniture.
    The documentary does much more than prove that the apathy of North Americans towards man’s best friend is growing, rather it proves that no matter how many people try to save all types of dogs… It is never enough.
    And that, was what really made me see the truth.

Leave a Reply

