Because I am a Product Junkie…

Never trust me when I say that I have settled on a hair regimen. I pray for the day that happens, but it hasn’t happened yet.

So I have decided to mess around with some new things. It took me a while to figure out that my hair is medium coarse, fine, and medium to high porosity.  I have gone through so many products and so much research that it makes my head spin. Anyway, what all of that means is that I can only use heavier butters and oils in the winter months.  I mean, I use a little bit of my homemade shea butter mix in the summer, but the base is mainly coconut oil.

Can black hair be fine? YES! My hair is thick at the roots, and thinner toward the ends, which means that I can’t use heavy butters and oils because it will make my hair greasy, and that is a big no-no ’round these parts. According to Oprah’s hairstylist, I have a 4a curl, which means that I have tiny corkscrew curls in my hair. These curls can be cute when they are under control, but when they are dry they tangle and break off. Because 4a hair is so delicate, it is very difficult to maintain length. I have finally gotten my hair to a length where it is possible to use my fingers to detangle. Before this I used a Denman brush, a Jilbere shower comb (wide teeth from Sally Beauty Supply), or the three-comb system. The three comb system is taking three different combs, from wide to narrow spacing between the teeth, and detangling the hair. I don’t recommend this if you don’t have a lot of patience, and get the right combs! If you want to know more about this, send me a message.

Last week, I started experimenting with different shampoos and oils because I have not been satisfied with the results that I’ve been getting. Last year, I was using a mud cleansing wash–I won’t name any names–it worked wonders for my hair, but my scalp started itching something fierce. I like using natural products, and dirt is as natural as one can get. Well, it’s clay, ha! For my itchy scalp, I tried vinegar rinsing, baking soda–nothing stopped the itching. So I had to go back to shampoo, which relieved the itching for a short time…to make a long story short, I’ve been putting a little Jojoba oil on my scalp, and that seems to help.

Okay, the new products:

I co-wash in between shampoos, which means that I shampoo twice a month, and then co-wash twice a month. Every time I shampoo, I detangle with Aussie Moist, and then deep condition.

Garnier Fructis Sleek and Shine shampoo

The Body Shop’s Ginger Dry Scalp shampoo

These shampoos have sulfates. I haven’t found a non-sulfate shampoo that will work with my scalp. In fact, I have used some non-sulfate shampoos, and they have stripped my hair just as much as a sulfate shampoo. I wash my hair using the tightly curly method, which means that I focus on the scalp–I don’t smoosh and mash shampoo into my hair like they do in those cheesy shampoo commercials. This causes tangles, and causes more oil to be stripped from the hair.

New Oils:

Aura Cacia Argan Oil

Aura Cacia Grape Seed Oil

Aura Cacia is a well-known essential oil company, so I trust their natural oils. Also, their price point is affordable. Because I mentioned Jojoba oil, I must tell you that I use Now brand. It seems to be doing just fine. When I was working in health food store retail, Now was kind of…I won’t say anymore, just know that I have it, and it’s working really well. You should be able to pick it up at any health food store, or Whole Foods(Grrr, ha!). I have a love-hate relationship with Whole Paycheck–I used to be a team member, a very long time ago, but that is a story for another time.

Any hair questions? Ask!

Leave a Reply

