Natural Hair Regimen

WARNING: This post is going to be of no interest to people that don’t have natural, African-American hair, ha!

I think I’ve finally settled on the products that work for my hair! Also, I think I have figured out how to treat my hair for maximum length retention.

I have been researching the care of natural black hair since 2009. I had been wearing my hair in its natural state off and on for many years, but every time I went natural I had a hard time keeping my hair moisturized. And when it comes down to it, moisture retention is the main issue when it comes to natural black hair. I mean, some ladies have low porosity, which means that it’s difficult for moisture to penetrate the hair shaft, and then there are ladies–like me–who have medium to high porosity, which means that moisture easily penetrates the hair shaft, but it leaves just as quickly.

I was washing my hair with Tresemme moisturizing shampoo with vitamin e. It was really drying, so I decided to go to naturallycurly.com to do some research. I still haven’t figured out the shampoo thing because most shampoo is not made for African-American hair. In other words, shampoo is made to strip oil from the hair, and African-American hair needs that oil. Even shampoo that is marketed to African-Americans is bad for our hair. I don’t care what they say about sulfate-free shampoo, I haven’t had much luck with those either. Further, after using a mud hair wash that shall remain nameless, I have scalp issues. I didn’t have this before I began using the mud wash…

I’ve preached enough, so I will get down to the list of what I am using. I am not completely satisfied with the shampoo that I am using, but I will continue to  work on it.

  • Garnier Fructis Sleek and Shine Shampoo (the new formula has argan oil, yay! twice a month)
  • Aussie Moist Conditioner (it’s inexpensive and works great for detangling and co-washes–twice a month)
  • Curl Junkie Curl Rehab (I use this after I shampoo and detangle–shampoo is drying, so I have to deep condish)
  • Oil rinse with Coconut oil (this cuts down on the tangles/knots)
  • Curl Junkie Smoothing Lotion (awesome leave-in condish)
  • Jessicurl Deep Treatment (I use this as a leave-in too, I put a thin coating over CJSL)
  • Shea Moisture Organic Raw Shea Butter Deep Treatment Masque (I switch this out with the Jessicurl, but I use this as a sealant because it has a ton of shea butter in it)
  • Oils I rotate, or that are in the products I use: Coconut, Olive, Argan, Grape Seed, Sunflower, Apricot, JBCO, Jojoba
  • My holy grail gel: Kinky-Curly Curling Custard (and sometimes I use the Kinky-Curly leave-in)

Products not available on the ground have links, but most of these can be found at Target, Walgreens, Whole Foods (ugh! I know…), or your local health food store. Most of the oils can be found in the health food store, or in your kitchen.

I know this seems like a lot of product (I have a lot more sitting around my dresser, heh-heh), but I don’t use all of these things at the same time–my hair would be an oily mess–but I do use more of certain products in the winter months because Chicago is super dry and cold.

If you have any shampoo suggestions, let me know!

Leave a Reply

