Illinois Senator Mark Kirk’s Expensive Health Care

Did anyone else see the video of Senator Mark Kirk’s recovery? I did, and I know that I am not the only one who was angered by it.  My mother stopped by this morning, and delivered an article that is in today’s Southtown Star (a south suburban subsidiary of the Sun-Times–that was a mouthful!). Please read Phil Kadner’s opinion piece before it disappears, or the site makes you sign-up to read it (that gets on my nerves too!). Kadner is on point, that none of us would be able to keep our job if we had a massive stroke, and had to take months off to recover. It just wouldn’t happen!

So I was appalled that the first few sentences out of Kirk’s mouth was about tax cuts. It wasn’t about how expensive his health care is, and it wasn’t to thank the citizens of Illinois for paying for his stellar health care. In fact, don’t all of the citizens of the U.S. contribute to the health care benefits of Senators? I don’t know, but I do know that they don’t have to worry about being bankrupted by a medical emergency.

Is anyone else as pissed off as I am? Seriously. It makes me angry because if I had a massive stroke, I wouldn’t be able to get the same health benefits as Senator Kirk, or keep my job!

If you haven’t seen the Kirk video, please google it! I don’t want to link it to my post because I am just too angry to do it. Also, think about your sick or older relatives that don’t have access to the same benefits as Kirk…UGH!!

Leave a Reply

