Summertime is Coming!! The Dangers of Flip-Flops

“See, I’m on the beach, and I like it!”

This is going to be a brief post, but for those that don’t know, among other things, I am a licensed clinical massage therapist. This means that under my license I can offer you ADVICE/SUGGESTIONS on certain soft tissue dysfunctions. It does not mean, however, that I can give you a diagnosis. Now that I have made my legal disclaimer, I can proceed.

During the summer months, many massage clients come into my office with myriad of complaints. And I often notice that they are wearing flip-flops. Flip-flops are for the beach, people!

About five years ago there was a flip-flop fashion explosion. Not just your plastic protection from hot sand, flip-flops soon became bedazzled, beaded and elevated. Today, there are even flip-flops with arch support.

There isn’t a problem with occasional flip-flop wear.  As I mentioned, flip-flops are made for the beach, but if you must, you can wear them around the house, or for quick errands. Flip-flops are not meant for long-term wear, which means that they are not meant to be worn on long walks, shopping trips–all day, everyday in the summer. This is a big “no,no.” Long-term wear will eventually lead to foot and ankle pain, knee and hip instability, and low back pain. Further, you could also cause plantar fascia inflammation–this is inflammation of the thin strip of soft tissue that lines the bottom of your foot–or what is commonly known as plantar fasciitis. This condition is extremely painful. I have had many clients with this condition, and during treatment, they are ready to jump off of the table from the pain!

So keep it cool, and keep it safe this summer. Flip-flops are an easy option when you want to step out of the house on a quick errand, but keep in mind the dangers of long-term wear. And my personal view on flip-flops is that they make a similar fashion statement as the sweat suit–“I am LAZY!!” Get some sandals, please, and if you can find some with a little arch support, that would be even better!

Now, I have to figure out a way to get my hands on a decent bicycle for the summer–I am looking for a women’s road bike, and it doesn’t have to be a 2012 model. In fact, a 2012 would be way too expensive…

2 thoughts on “Summertime is Coming!! The Dangers of Flip-Flops

  1. Funny, I hate flip flops. I refuse to wear them actually. There’s something about that sucking sound that reminds me of how my mother forced me to wear them. I usually opt for a canvas slip-on, espadrille, or a pair of good ‘ole minnetonka’s! Hello summer!
    G.G.

    • HA! I have never heard anyone say that their mother forced them to wear flip-flops, HA! Especially a guy, HA! That is tuurrible, G.G.. Aren’t you glad that you’re all grown-up?!

Leave a Reply

