Stress Much?

Okay, so, like many others this time of year, I am in the last throws of the Spring semester, and this is the first time that I feel like crying. I have had some interesting professors this semester–and I am left asking myself “I am paying big money for this??!!”

This is the problem with being an adult in college. And I am not talking about the “I am of drinking age” kind of an adult, I am talking about I am grown as hell!! I feel like I am getting an education, but at the same time I am spying. In other words, since I transferred into UIC, I have had about three classes that I think were worth the time and money. With the rest, I am left wondering why all of these kids don’t have a 4.0 g.p.a.

I may change my mind about this because I am writing this entry under extreme stress. I have to finish an assignment for a communication class, an html coding assignment, that is literally impossible. I have been working on it for days, and I haven’t been able to get past step one. I know basic html, that is very easy. However, the professor is requiring us to do this project in a specific format, which in my opinion is for people who are much more advanced.

Granted we had an option to write a 3-5 page paper, but even the requirements for the paper were ridiculous–the instructions were a page long, single spaced, with a requirement of 5 sources. This sounds easy, and in theory it is ( I am an English major), but if you could just read the instructions, you would feel the same way I do.  I’m sorry professor, this is not the only class that I have, and I am not working on my graduate thesis.

In any case, this coding assignment is due, like everything else, on Friday, and I am really upset about it. I am going to e-mail the professor, but I don’t think this will do me any good–most likely, the professor will say something to piss me off even more.

On top of that, I have four papers due by Friday. I don’t wait to do my projects until the last minute, that’s just not me. So why do professors wait until the last minute to pile on the work? And the reply “This is college” is not going to work for me. It’s simply not an acceptable response.

Leave a Reply

