What would the world be without Black?

This blog is going to put a spin on what it means to be black, or African-American. That means that this space is managed by an African-American woman. Though not specifically for African-American readers, this blog is for people who are interested in reading, hearing and seeing what it’s really like to be a black woman in America. Granted, I can’t help but to be me when I create an entry, so it will definitely be colored (heh-heh) by my experience. That said, being black is not the entirety of who I am. When I look out into the world I look out as me. Do you get what I am saying?

This space will attempt to discuss myriad of topics: music, popular culture, food, fashion, architecture, education–just about anything that interests me that may end up being of interests to others. Opinions? Yes! Rude? I will do my best to watch my manners, and you can do me a solid by doing the same. Funny? Perhaps. That will depend on what kind of mood I am in. I can be pretty funny.

First, I listen to a lot of music because I love it. In fact, I sing and write songs. But, get this, I don’t know if this is a part of the black stereotype, but I don’t listen to a ton of hip-hop. I like hip-hop, but hip-hop and I have a love-hate relationship. I don’t want to explain why, I mean, certain things are pretty obvious, but I just got finished typing a paper about this very thing, so I don’t feel like regurgitating what I wrote here. Over time, if you decide that this blog is interesting, you will definitely get an idea of my thoughts on the subject.

In any case, I listen to soul, rock, funk, electronic/dance, jazz, world music, and some music that can’t be categorized. When I was younger, I used to listen to a lot of Broadway, movie soundtracks, and classical.

Aaaah! sweet music. What are you listening to right now?

5 thoughts on “What would the world be without Black?

    • Yeah, I have my defaults as well. I have a Lil’ John mix, and a Masters at Work mix that I go to all the time. They are from the 90’s, but they still make me want to dance!

  1. I love classical music. I used to play the violin. I stil have it, but it has been a while since I’ve played it. And I like to go to the opera. Yes, I am classy.

Leave a Reply

